Australia won their first-ever World Darts Championship, as Simon Whitlock and Damon Huta blanked Welsh pairs Gerwyn Price and Johnny Clayton. Australias Damon Heta & Simon Whitlock defeated Welsh pair Gerywn Price and Jonny Clayton on Sunday night, taking the World Cup crown for the first time in the nation’s history. Simon Whitlock has flagged Damon Heta as the next World Champion after Australia’s pairing defeated Wales to take home the World Darts Championship for the first time.

Australia claimed its maiden World Cup darts title at Cazoo in Frankfurt on a historic evening, with Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock beating Welsh pair Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton 3-1 in Sunday’s final. Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton fell just short of Australia’s quest for their second Cazoo World Cup of Darts victory, although they denied hosts Germany and four-time winners the Netherlands a place in Sunday’s showpiece. Ten years ago, Australia had the best chance of winning the World Cup of Darts, losing out to England’s Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis, causing heartbreak to Simon Whitlock and Paul Nicholson at sudden death.

Ten years after suffering World Cup of Darts heartbreak in the stunning final against first-seeded England in 2012, Whitlock fulfilled his Darts destiny with a partnership with Damon Heta, winning the grand prize of 70 000 pounds in Frankfurt. Simon Whitlock suffered the agony of missing out on another in a doubles rubber against the Welsh this time around, which would have completed the 3-0 whitewash, but that did not matter, as his partner Heta overcame Jonny Clayton 4-2 in the first of the reversal singles to close the 3-0 win against Wales.

The victory was bittersweet for Simon Whitlock of Australia, having been a part of a team which missed out on the title by five-game points in the 2012 edition of their title match against first-seeded England, with a final elusive to Australia ever since. For Simon Whitlock and Australia, they have finally achieved their destiny with the Darts, sealing their 2022 edition, along with new Australian Darts Star in the Heat, Damon Heta, who brought home a thrilling 3-1 win, seeing off Gerwyn Price, then eventually Jonny Clayton, after The Wizard missed the match darts on a doubles rubber almost ten years on after The Wizard missed the match darts in the doubles rubber, following a match which The Wizard missed a pair. Memories will be brought back from 2012 when Simon Whitlock missed a match dart in a team tie to hand Australia a draw and leave Wales involved with the scoreline connected 2-1, with Heta vs Jonny Clayton being key to the 2022 edition.